California Auto Insurance Requirements
Carrying auto insurance is necessary in most states. In California, it is legally required that all motorists carry car auto insurance as a way to protect other drivers from losses incurred in an accident. Knowing what California auto insurance requirements are is critical before you hit the road. Talk to our San Diego car insurance dispute lawyer at Dawson & Rosenthal, P.C., today.
Minimum Liability Requirements for Car Insurance in California
The state of California requires individuals to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance if they operate a private passenger vehicle. This is covered under California Insurance Code 11580.1b. It requires the following amounts of coverage:
- $15,000 in bodily injury and death insurance benefits per person
- $30,000 in bodily injury and death insurance benefits per accident
- $5,000 in property damage liability insurance benefits per accident
This is liability insurance. That means it covers the other driver, not the person who maintains the policy. It applies in situations where the policyholder causes (is at fault) for the losses another person suffers.
This is the minimum mandatory amount of liability insurance a person must have in place in order to operate a vehicle legally under the state’s laws. This is the only type of required insurance.
There are numerous other types of auto insurance that you may wish to purchase. This includes collision insurance, comprehensive insurance, uninsured driver, and underinsured driver coverage. These types of policies cover you, the policyholder, from losses.
What Happens If a Driver Does Not Have Insurance?
When a driver does not have the minimum required liability insurance, they are in violation of the state’s laws. Driving uninsured comes with various penalties, including fines that range from $100 up to $2,500. In addition, some people may be required to purchase a special type of insurance called SR-22 insurance certificate coverage. This is a much higher-cost policy that aims to ensure the driver maintains coverage.
What Happens When You Are in an Accident with an Uninsured Driver?
One of the times when you may have to use your policy when you are the victim is if the other party does not have liability insurance or does not have enough coverage. In this situation, if you have decided to carry underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage, then your insurance company should step in to help you with the losses you have incurred.
There are many times when insurance companies fail to provide this coverage. They may deny protection for various reasons. If that happens, seek out legal support from our team for bad faith. If you are denied coverage from another driver’s liability policy, we also encourage you to seek out our legal support.
Schedule a Free Consultation to Discuss Your Case
Any time you believe an insurance company owes you money and that company fails to pay you, arm yourself with a well-qualified attorney. California auto insurance requirements are very specific, but they are also very low. If you are in an accident that warrants additional compensation, reach out to us for guidance and support. At Dawson & Rosenthal, P.C., we work to protect our clients. Contact us now to learn more about how we can help you with a free consultation.